Sunday, October 20, 2013

Hard As It Gets Video, News, and Giveaway!

By Laura Kaye

Less than six weeks til the release of Hard As It Gets and I'm getting very excited! I just finished the second book in the series, too (called Hard As You Can), and I just love being immersed in this world!

Now that we're getting closer, I have a number of fun things to share with you:

First, a video about the series. Yes, that's me being a little dorky but don't watch for me, watch for the hot tattooed guys!!! LOL



Second, Hard As It Gets had a very awesome week in reviews and I'm so excited because all three of these represent firsts for me: first review ever from Publishers Weekly and Booklist, and first Top Pick! from RT Book Reviews! Take a look:

"Sizzling romance. The intriguing tattoo parlor and military background will appeal to fans of Suzanne Brockmann and Lindsay McKenna." ~Publishers Weekly

"TOP PICK! Joining the Avon ranks is hot new star Kaye, who kicks off a suspenseful and electrifying new series featuring tarnished soldiers trying to regain their stolen honor. The collision of Nick and Becca's lives makes for sizzling danger with a spicy edge. Kaye is one to watch!" ~RT Book Reviews Magazine

"Kaye's depiction of sexual tension and her sex scenes are masterful, and this will appeal to fans of Maya Banks' KGI and Julie Ann Walker's Black Knight series." ~Booklist

MEEP!!! LOL

Third, each Tuesday between now and 11/26, I'll be sharing a new chapter excerpt from Hard As It Gets on my Facebook page, so bookmark and come back each Tuesday to get a taste of the book before it releases!

Fourth, we've got a reward of some exclusive content for anyone who pre-orders Hard As It Gets (or who already has pre-ordered)! Submit proof of pre-order using this form, and on December 1 you'll receive my behind-the-scene notes and character dossier for the whole Hard Ink team!

Edgy, sexy and full of suspense! A great read from a great new author!" ~ #1 NYT Bestselling Author J.R. Ward on HARD AS IT GETS
Pre-Order at Amazon | B&N | iTunes

Finally, it wouldn't be a celebration without a good old-fashioned giveaway, right??? So, leave a comment here AND like our blog's Facebook Page and be entered to win one of two signed paperbacks of Hard As It Gets! Ends 11:59pm EST on 10/25! Open to international! What to comment? Tell me your favorite military romance hero!

Thanks for reading!
Laura


39 comments:

  1. Aside from my Hubby, who is a Gulf War Era US Army Veteran, and my real life hero, I love a multidimensional, alpha hero. Especially, one like Brady Scott, who conducts one of the best wooing "missions" I've ever read about to win Joss' heart. I love the dichotomy of a confident (cocky and arrogant), physically fit man with a hint of shyness and vulnerability, when he meets his true love. If he's a blue or green-eyed blonde, I'm sold.

    In contrast, I love to see strong alpha men paired with intelligent, quirky, dark-eyed brunettes, who are a bit nerdy. There's nothing sexier, than discovering the sultry woman beneath an amazing brain and sharp with.

    I'm really looking forward to reading the "Hard Ink" series!
    Thank you for the opportunity to comment,

    ~Michelle
    mmmazuros at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
  2. There are too many to list. I love military romances-well I love all romances. lol :) I've been waiting for this book since I saw the cover! I can't wait. :)

    KittyKelly
    kittykelly28@hotmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. Woot! Thanks guys! And thanks for kicking off the comments!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Awesome Laura I can't wait to read it!! Love your writing :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love any man in uniform. To pick one would be like picking my favorite child. Give me an alpha male willing to fight for what he believes in and I'm THERE!

    ReplyDelete
  6. You asked: Tell me your favorite military romance hero!

    Tough since there are so many. However, the latest that I found wonderful are the Santini Brothers by Melissa Schroder. In particular, Leo Santini. He and MaryAnne were an amazing couple who were meant to be together but things got in the way....namely Leo. Great books. Very enjoyable reads

    Belinda G
    belgre at comcast dot net

    ReplyDelete
  7. I enjoy reading military romance, so I have a lot of favorites. The most recent: I just finished the Vegas Top Guns series by Katie Porter (loved).

    I cannot wait to read this series! Military + tattoos = WIN :0)
    moore_sarah2 at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
  8. I couldn't possibly choose just one. In general just love them all.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

    ReplyDelete
  9. I haven't read any military romance! Can anyone suggest an awesome one for me to read??

    shannonw1978(AT)hotmail(DOT)com

    ReplyDelete
  10. This is really hard but since maya banks came to mind first I will go with Kelly series. Great cover, love it.

    blinkysthebest at aol dot com

    ReplyDelete
  11. To be honest, I have never read a military romance, although I would love to experience my first reading your work...that's how I end up getting addicted to yet another romance genre! =)

    As for military romance hero, since I have no experience in this genre, I can't name one. =( I have to start somewhere in this genre, adding ones to my list as I go.

    Thank you for the opportunity Laura and best wishes for much success with your upcoming new release!

    Hugs,

    Shelbie Knight =)

    Love and prayers to all of our military families - what you do...the sacrifices you make...there would be no freedom without your individual contributions and sacrifices. God Bless each of you! =)

    ReplyDelete
  12. My husband is my favorite military hero. 18 years in the Navy and still going strong. My 19 year old daughter too...in boot camp now Go NAVY!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Liked your page! And besides acquaintances I have not truly met a real military hero. But my favorite fictional military hero is Noah/Nathan from Lora Leigh's Wild Card!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Liked your page :)

    My favorite military hero is Brady - from One Night With A Hero (one of my favorite books!),he is one of those characters who stay forever in your heart,it's really amazing hero,my favorite hero <3 :)

    ReplyDelete
  15. Congrats on the upcoming release, Laura! Not sure I could choose just one, but Suz Brockmann's written some that were some of my first intros to military heroes :) And already liked your FB page (and the blog's) Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  16. My favorite military hero is Joe Green from 'Last Man Standing' by Cindy Gerard! Already liked your FB page.
    And congratulation Laura on upcoming release!!
    Thanks for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  17. Really all military men are great!! Looking forward to this, Laura!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. fyi...I already like your page, but my fb name is different than my Google name!

      Delete
  18. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  19. I started reading your books with "One Night with a Hero" and just kept going from there. So, it's only fitting that I'll answer your question with Brady Scott!

    -Shawne

    ReplyDelete
  20. I love men in uniform. I loved Brady from one night with a hero and maya banks' kgi series

    ReplyDelete
  21. How did I not know about this blog before? I love military romance and some of my favorites are in the KGI series by Maya Banks and Cat Johnson's One Night With A Cowboy. Thanks for the awesome giveaway!

    FB Follower: Elizabeth Haney
    ehaney578 at aol dot com

    ReplyDelete
  22. My favorite military hero was Lucky from "Get Lucky" by Suzanne Brockmann . This was first book i read about military men, and i like it.

    TsukiSelene at yahoo dot co dot id

    ReplyDelete
  23. I haven't read any military romance! But it sounds interesting :D Do suggest ;)

    anda15y@yahoo.co.uk

    ReplyDelete
  24. Besides One Night With A Hero by our wonderful Laura Kaye, I LOVE When the Mission Ends series by Christi Snow! There are 3 books in that series and I finished each book in about 2 days. I couldn't stop reading, and thank goodness the series was complete by the time I found it. So I had NO waiting for the next book.
    I tried liking your page, but it seems FB is having some problems. I won't allow me to LIKE any pictures or pages as well as comment. But I'll keep trying thru out the day.

    ReplyDelete
  25. My boyfriend :) He is in army, he is my hero and he is romantic :) LOL, but I have to say I really like Brady (One Night With A Hero) I will never forget how he tried to get Joss back-with all those romantic gifts. Ahhh Brady <3

    ReplyDelete
  26. My Dad and Aunt were both in the Navy and I lost an Uncle in WWII. He was on the USS Johnston in the Battle of the Coral Sea and was KIA. So I'm very partial to Naval heroes, especially SEALS.

    ReplyDelete
  27. My favourite Military hero from books is also from one of Laura Kayes series: Brady Scott I LOVED him in One Night with a Hero (also Happy 1 year Anniversary for it too Laura!) Liked the blog facebook page name: Amy Ryan.
    Thanks for the giveaway!

    amieesnow@gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  28. Captain Chuck Tanaka from Catherine Mann's Protector..but I love so many different heroes in many different military romance novels...
    All are just terrific reads...from many authors, too!

    ReplyDelete
  29. Really enjoyed reading all your comments, guys, and thanks for the love for Marco and Brady! :)

    ReplyDelete
  30. Sounds like a fabulous new series!

    Have to say my favorite military romance hero right now is a toss up between Izzy Zanella and Roger (Sam) Starrett from Suzanne Brockmann's Troubleshooter series.

    Thanks for the chance at the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  31. It's got to be Brady! He's just so delicious!

    ReplyDelete
  32. Mu husband is a Gunnery Sergeant in the Marine Corps! He has been in for 20 years. He is my favorite Military hero! But as far as books go I love Axel and Cage!

    ReplyDelete
  33. I have many so I'm gonna gowith my first, Reno Chavez from Reno's Chance by Lora Leigh.

    ReplyDelete
  34. Would it seem like I was sucking up if I said Marco and Brady? LOL

    ReplyDelete